Epiphany

When I first started working with  Odin, everything felt like a distraction.

And recently, in response to my distracted nature, it seemed that Odin had shut off my connection with everyone but Him.

Or so I thought.

But the other night, it turns out that it would seem that Loki is getting through anyway.

I woke up this morning with Vertical Horizon’s Everything You Want inexplicably stuck in my head.

Though I was – until this morning – only vaguely familiar with the song, what was stuck in my head was the chorus:

He’s everything you want

He is everything you need

He is everything inside you 

That you wish you could be

He says all the right things

At exactly the right time

But He means nothing to you 

And you don’t know why.

And my first thought was that this had to be Odin… talking about Loki, because, as I said, Odin has been the only one I’ve been allowed to hear lately.

But then I got a sudden flash of Loki – sitting at the base of my Eiwhaz tree – and suddenly it occurred to me.

Perhaps it was Loki Who is singing the lyrics?

So I cued up the lyric video – which didn’t load.

Then, I cued up the official video

…wondering if this was perhaps part of the lesson:

I’d be forced to focus on listening (in order to hear the lyrics) without the ease of being able to read them as I listened to the song.

Lyrics:

Somewhere there’s speaking
It’s already coming in
Oh and it’s rising at the back of your mind
You never could get it
Unless you were fed it
Now you’re here and you don’t know why

But under skinned knees and the skid marks
Past the places where you used to learn
You howl and listen
Listen and wait for the
Echoes of angels who won’t return

[Chorus]
He’s everything you want
He’s everything you need
He’s everything inside of you
That you wish you could be
He says all the right things
At exactly the right time
But he means nothing to you
And you don’t know why

You’re waiting for someone
To put you together
You’re waiting for someone to push you away
There’s always another wound to discover
There’s always something more you wish he’d say

[Chorus]

But you’ll just sit tight
And watch it unwind
It’s only what you’re asking for
And you’ll be just fine
With all of your time
It’s only what you’re waiting for

Out of the island
Into the highway
Past the places where you might have turned
You never did notice
But you still hide away
The anger of angels who won’t return

But then, upon hearing the final chorus – I suddenly saw a flash of Odin.

(Things have shifted, yes?)

And you know what? 

the last verse is definitely a pronoun shift, as the singer, sounding rather resigned, sings:

I am everything you want

I am everything you need

I am everything inside you that you wish you could be

I say all the right things

At exactly the right time…

But I mean nothing to you

And I don’t know why.

(from here)

~~~

Looking at websites as SongMeanings and SongFacts, you may see a lot of commentary that insists that Everything You Want is a song about God, or perhaps Jesus, speaking to a struggling devotee, and though I am by no means a Christian, I can see definitely see the logic in that interpretation.

But Matt Scannell, the singer for Vertical Horizon, admits that the meaning of the song has to do with ‘[this] person who could see everything around her except for the thing that could actually help her.  [She was] a sort of tormented, glasses-half-empty person who was in pain about a bunch of things that had happened to her in her life, and always wound up looking to the wrong places to find solace and to find help. And then when that was over, she would just be emptier than she was before. And I could just see her… sinking. And it was …from my perspective, a sense of wishing that she would turn to me, and… realize that I wanted to help her in ways that maybe she couldn’t see as it being what she really needed … So in the last chorus is really that chance [that I had] to say, ‘Hey, look – enough. I love you. I can help you, but I don’t mean anything to you at all.… But if you’re asking me directly, that’s really where it came from.”

~~~~

So, in a sense, that further pushes me toward the previously mentioned spiritual interpretations about struggling devotees…who don’t see the forest for the trees.

Hm.

Leave a Reply

